adfree.blogg.se

Fire wire 800 for macbook 2008 to i mac 2015
Fire wire 800 for macbook 2008 to i mac 2015






fire wire 800 for macbook 2008 to i mac 2015
  1. Fire wire 800 for macbook 2008 to i mac 2015 update#
  2. Fire wire 800 for macbook 2008 to i mac 2015 upgrade#
fire wire 800 for macbook 2008 to i mac 2015

But the MacBook Pro has been my faithful companion ever since. Proving Schiller right, I rarely used the slot. Horrified by the abandonment of such a vital expansion technology-eSATA was essential, dammit! 1-I snapped up its refurbished predecessor. My Titanium PowerBook was beginning to break down, and just as I was debating its replacement Phil Schiller announced that the 2009 MacBook Pros would eliminate the ExpressCard/34 slot.

fire wire 800 for macbook 2008 to i mac 2015

Although I switched desktop platforms, I continued to buy laptops from Apple-and the MacBook Pro (Late 2008) wound up becoming my primary productivity machine. I eked out five years of page layout and primitive web design with my first Mac, a Performa 600, despite its lackluster specs. Macs didn’t simply “just work,” they worked for much longer. You could hold onto your investment for one or two more years, upgrading not from necessity but by choice. In continuing to support the MacBook Pro (Late 2008), Apple demonstrates one of the value propositions that fans clung to even during the dark times when Apple lurched toward bankruptcy and the Mac toward irrelevance: that Macs simply lasted longer than their PC cousins. I’m not just being a cheapskate, however: When this laptop’s time finally comes, I’ll shed a tear. But like the Saturn Ion I’m going to drive until it falls apart, I have no reason to walk away from this ancient MacBook Pro. Today’s comparable 15-inch MacBook Pro has a Retina display and four times the power while weighing a pound less. A 2015 11-inch MacBook Air puts up roughly double its numbers on Geekbench 3. Its connectivity options are quaint: FireWire 800? ExpressCard/34? When its Nvidia 9600M GT discrete graphics card kicks in, the fan is deafening-and modern integrated Intel graphics outperform it at a fraction of the energy cost. By modern standards, my laptop is ludicrously heavy. You’d be safe in assuming that this is the reaction of a crazy person. For another year, I was able to breathe the long sigh of relief.

Fire wire 800 for macbook 2008 to i mac 2015 upgrade#

I would be able to upgrade it to El Capitan. The life of a beloved Mac hung in the balance.Ī couple of hours later, I got the good news: Yet again, the first unibody MacBook Pro (“Late 2008,” also known as MacBookPro5,1) had been spared. I broke out into a sweat and began refreshing the liveblogs, looking for two magic words: system requirements.

Fire wire 800 for macbook 2008 to i mac 2015 update#

Eastern Time, Apple senior vice president of software Craig Federighi announced the latest update to OS X, El Capitan. Seven years on, a MacBook Pro prepares for El Capitan








Fire wire 800 for macbook 2008 to i mac 2015